What We're Reading in the Children's Section

$14.95
ISBN: 9780735841666
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: NorthSouth (NY) - May 31st, 2014

A colorful look at getting along!
 
Matilda, the Queen of Colors, has a color for her every mood—she calls for Blue when she’s calm, Red when she’s wild, and Yellow when she wants to be warm. But when
Matilda and Yellow begin to quarrel, not even Blue and Red can stop the argument. And before long everything in the kingdom turns Gray, until Matilda cries tears—bright colorful
tears.
 
Jutta Bauer’s simple yet evocative story and pictures convey a rainbow of emotions as The Queen of Colors plays and jousts with her primary subjects—Blue, Red, and Yellow.


$12.95
ISBN: 9780789212115
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Abbeville Kids - June 9th, 2014

World Soccer Legends
Everything you need to know about most exciting clubs and the best players on the planet.

Stars of the World Cup

Learn all about twenty-eight of the best players competing for the 2014 FIFA World Cup, from unstoppable scorers like Messi and Ronaldo to crafty playmakers like Iniesta and Modric, and ironclad defenders like Philipp Lahm and Thiago Silva.

Get the inside scoop on their strengths and weaknesses heading into the showdown in Brazil.

See incredible action shots of their on-field wizardry.


$15.99
ISBN: 9780385376525
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Delacorte Press Books for Young Readers - July 21st, 2014

Meet the Fletchers. Their year will be filled with new schools, old friends, a grouchy neighbor, hungry skunks, leaking ice rinks, school plays, wet cats, and scary tales told in the dark!
 
There’s Sam, age twelve, who’s mostly interested in soccer, food, and his phone; Jax, age ten, who’s psyched for fourth grade and thinks the new neighbor stinks, and not just because of the skunk; Eli, age ten (but younger than Jax), who’s thrilled to be starting this year at the Pinnacle School, where everyone’s the smart kid; and Frog (not his real name), age six, who wants everyone in kindergarten to save a seat for his invisible cheetah. Also Dad and Papa. 
 
WARNING: This book contains cat barf, turtle pee, and some really annoying homework assignments.
 
Perfect for fans of The Penderwicks and James Patterson’s Middle School series, this seriously funny, modern family adventure features two dads, four adopted boys, and a variety of pets. 


$16.99
ISBN: 9781616550844
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Dark Horse Comics - February 25th, 2013

What if you can leap tall buildings and defeat alien monsters with your bare hands, but you buy your capes at secondhand stores and have a weakness for kittens? Cartoonist Faith Erin Hicks brings charming humor to the trials and tribulations of a young, female superhero, battling monsters both supernatural and mundane in an all-too-ordinary world.

* A lighthearted twist on the superhero genre!


$17.95
ISBN: 9781419709289
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Amulet Books - June 16th, 2014

Nolan doesn't see darkness when he closes his eyes. Instead, he’s transported into the mind of Amara, a girl living in a different world. Nolan’s life in his small Arizona town is full of history tests, family tension, and laundry; his parents think he has epilepsy, judging from his frequent blackouts. Amara’s world is full of magic and danger--she’s a mute servant girl who’s tasked with protecting a renegade princess. Nolan is only an observer in Amara's world--until he learns to control her. At first, Amara is terrified. Then, she's furious. But to keep the princess--and themselves--alive, they'll have to work together and discover the truth behind their connection.
A fascinating premise, clearly and compellingly written and imagined by a startlingly original debut writer.


By Laurane Marchive (Editor), Pam McElroy (Editor)
$14.99
ISBN: 9781936976584
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Zest Books - July 28th, 2014

Going green is hard to doespecially when it comes to food. There are acronyms to learn, labels to decipher, seasons to accommodate, and grocery stores to navigateand that's before you even turn on the stove! The Green Teen Cookbook cuts through the chaos and shows teens how to shop smarter, cook more consciously, and eat a healthier diet. And in addition to the 70+ incredible recipes (created by teens, for teens), the book also includes:

  • Illuminating essays about freeganism, flexitarians, vegetarianism, and more
  • Tips about how to shop on a budget and get the most out of what you already have in your pantry
  • A seasonal key that ensures the freshness of the recipes (and a minimal carbon footprint)
  • Photos for each of the 70+ recipes


$17.99
ISBN: 9781442476608
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Beach Lane Books - July 21st, 2014

The New York Times bestselling stars of LMNO Peas and 1-2-3 Peas are back for a romp through a rainbow of colors!

A passel of playful peas keeps it green as they experience the colorful world around them, from red kites to yellow buses to purple mountains and more! Bright and bold illustrations fill the pages of this delightful exploration of color.


By Sarah Powell, Barbi Sido (Illustrator), Daniel Pangbourne (Photographer)
$12.99
ISBN: 9780312517380
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Priddy Books - July 14th, 2014

Don’t throw away that box! Why not turn it into something amazing instead? This incredibly creative book shows kids that by using easy-to-find art and craft materials, the ideas, templates and stickers included in the book, and most importantly, a ton of imagination, simple cardboard boxes can be transformed into a robot costume, a princess castle, a circus, and so much more!